Persevering Legacy

Persevering Legacy

Feb 5, 2021

Persevering Legacy


This event is available to watch online.

Free or pay what you can

Free or pay what you can

  • Date: Feb 05, 2021
  • Time: 7:30pm
  • Presented by: CU Music

Persevering Legacy champions a unique, catalytic collaboration that elevates stories of historically marginalized, diverse female composers to align classical music with social activism.

The College of Music will partner with the American Music Research Center (AMRC) and Diverse Musicians' Alliance to present this unique performance event. This free performance features College of Music students performing music written and composed by historically marginalized, diverse female composers.


Please note: This year, applicants are encouraged to present material outside the AMRC's Helen Walker-Hill collection, a unique collection of rare and seldom performed musical compositions by female African American composers. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the college has limited access to library materials, including this specific collection. The Helen Walker-Hill collection has been used within the previous Persevering Legacy performances and provided the foundation for launching Persevering Legacy series. Limited funding will be available for performers to access music outside of the collections of the music library and AMRC. Apply now

Streamed performance

Even though we are not gathering in person, you can still enjoy this performance from the comfort of your home. Stream this performance Friday, February 5, 7:30 p.m. MST right here at

Trouble loading here? Watch at

This is a pay-what-you-can performance

On average people pay $25, but whether it's $5 or $100, your support will help the work of the College of Music continue to inspire artistry and discovery, together. Please pay what you can before or after enjoying this special presentation.

Support Us Now


Check back before the concert for program information.


Izzy Fincher

Read Bio for Izzy Fincher

We invite you to watch, listen and gather with us online right now. Each week we will bring you curated creations from the artists you’d see in any other CU Presents season, in the comfort of your own home.

Digital Home