Jazz at Lincoln Center Presents The Democracy! Suite

Jazz at Lincoln Center Presents The Democracy! Suite

Feb 19-21, 2021

Jazz at Lincoln Center Presents The Democracy! Suite

Wynton Marsalis, trumpet/music director  
Elliot Mason, trombone  
Ted Nash, alto saxophone and flute 
Walter Blanding, tenor and soprano saxophones  
Dan Nimmer, piano  
Carlos Henriquez, bass  
Obed Calvaire, drums  
The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet's performance of The Democracy! Suite aims to entertain, inspire and uplift audiences with the full vigor, vision and depth of America’s music. Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz's finest soloists, the concert's unique repertoire celebrates jazz's embodiment of freedom and democracy. 
The evening will feature a personal address from Marsalis, followed by the premiere of The Democracy! Suite, his new composition written during the ongoing COVID-19 crisis as a response to the political, social and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy! Suite is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future. 
This concert was filmed on September 27, 2020, at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in accordance with the New York State Department of Health Interim Guidance on Media Production during the COVID-19 Emergency.

Streamed performance

Even though we are not gathering in person, you can still enjoy this performance from the comfort of your home. Stream this performance Friday, Feb. 19, 7:30 p.m. MST through Sunday, Feb. 21, 11 p.m. MST right here at cupresents.org. Remind me


The Democracy! Suite

  1. Be Present
  2. Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matters)
  3. Ballot Box Bounce
  4. That Dance We Do (That You Love Too)
  5. Deeper Than Dreams
  6. Out Amongst the People (for J Bat)
  7. It Come ‘Round ‘Gin
  8. That’s When All Will See

Performance Extras

Free Event
Distinguished Lectureship in Music, Diversity and Inclusion Feb 15, 2021

Distinguished Lectureship in Music, Diversity and Inclusion

The fourth annual Distinguished Lectureship in Music, Diversity…


Wynton Marsalis

Read Bio for Wynton Marsalis

We invite you to watch, listen and gather with us online right now. Each week we will bring you curated creations from the artists you’d see in any other CU Presents season, in the comfort of your own home.

Digital Home